A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A pet food company had to recently call back 4 million pounds of pet food in response to the complaints from pet owners that after eating the company's pet food, their pets experienced vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness. The pet food company tested the samples and found no discrepancies with the chemicals used in the pet food. As a result, the arguer is of the opinion that the company should not invest and further resources into the investigation. The arguer's conclusion might seem compelling after reading through the evidences provided by him, although, a closer look might unearth a few alternate possibilities that might undermine the arguer's position.

Firstly, the arguer points towards the testing of pet food samples once the were recalled. The arguer also states that the results of the tests prove no discrepancies in the chemicals used to manufacture the pet food. The questions that might arise here is, did the company conduct impartially, the tests on the pet food, and can the results be believed? Such questions arise since the company can be guilty of hiding their results or providing false results to the people in order to save the reputation of the company. If such a situation is true, the company should invest resources into further investigation of the food since it is their pet food which is causing problems for the pets.

Secondly, even if we believe that the testing conducted on the pet food was legitimate, were the samples tested in line with the average amount of food consumed by a pet? What if the amount of sample, that was tested, is very less compared to the average amount of food that the pet eats in one sitting? This could mean that, for the amount of sample, which was tested, the chemicals are within the limits but when it is compared to the average amount of food consumed by the pets in one go, it is causing problems for the pets. If such a situation holds true, there will be doubts on the methods, undertaken by the company to test the pet food. As a result, it would be necessary to conduct further investigation, on the recalled food.

Lastly, the arguer states that the chemicals used for the creation of pet food were inline with the chemicals approved for pet food creation. What if the quantity of chemicals to be used were approved only recently, and before that, the company used to add chemicals as it pleased them? This could mean that the pet food has a higher concentration of chemicals, than it is approved for pet food manufacturing. If there is any substance to such a possibility, it would be apt for the company to recall all the previously dispatched packets of pet food and do thorough research on each one of them.

In sum, the evidences provided by the arguer in order to defend the pet food are dubious and erroneous. The evidences hint towards a myriad possibilities that casts a doubt on the pet food's safety. Hence, it cannot be categorically stated if the pet food, manufactured by the company, is safe for consumption.