A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The arguer of given prompt is of the opinion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. In arriving to such a conclusion, the arguer provides a comparison between the children of Nepal and the United States of America. The conclusion as well as the evidence seem legible on the first read. Although, a closer look could unearth possible alternate possibilities which could prove the arguer's conclusion unwarranted.

Firstly, the arguer has based his conclusion upon a recent study which suggests lower level of tooth decay in children of Nepal than the United States of America. There are a few questions that arise as a consequence of this study. Which organization conducted this study and was it a reliable organization? What were the methods that were undertaken to conduct such a study? If the organization is not deemed fit to conduct such a study, or if the methods used were erroneous. There could be a possibility that children of the United States have a better set of teeth than Nepal. It would therefore cast doubt upon the conclusion that the arguer has come up with.

Secondly, the arguer claims that the people of Nepal have little to no access to professional dental care. The arguer does not provide sufficient basis to back such a claim. What if the children of Nepal are getting professional help in the form of free dental camps or government initiatives? This could mean that professional dental care is the reason for lower levels of tooth decay among the kids of Nepal. Thus, it could contradict the claim that the arguer has made in the given prompt.

Lastly, the arguer has implicitly assumed that a child in the United States visits a dentist only for problems related to tooth decay. Moreover, the statistics provided in the prompt plays no significant role. What if the problem of tooth decay is administered correctly with the help of professional dental care? What if a child visits a dentist for other reasons? This would refute that arguer's claim. And rather it would mean that professional dental care is helpful to prevent tooth decay.

In sum, the arguer's conclusion is based upon untested and unwarranted assumptions. Certain evidences tend to refute the arguer's claim rather than support them. Therefore, the arguer needs to reconsider the evidences provided, in order to make a stronger claim.