The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries has suggested a few steps that need to be taken in order to improve the company's productivity and improve overall profits. The steps include installing a software that traces internet usage of company employees on their workstations. If someone is found to be using internet for personal use, he or she would be punished. The vice president thinks that preventing misuse of internet by the employees will improve the comapny's overall revenue and promote a better work ethic. Installation of a monitoring software seems like a foolproof plan to minimise employees wasting their time. Scrutinizing the vice president's recommendation thoroughly unearths a few alternate possibilities that could undermine the success of the vice president's plan.

Firstly, has the software, that will be installed on the employee workstations be quality checked? Are they efficient enough to raise an alarm when an employee uses internet for personal use? What if the employees find a way around the software and use the internet for personal use without getting detected? This could mean that the investment in software would be a huge loss of money. Moreover, the employees will continue wasting their time on the internet. As a result, the productivity of employees will continue to be low and it will not improve the overall profits of the company.

Secondly, even if we assume that the software, recommended by the vice-president is foolproof, how can the vice-president be certain that a restriction on internet use will compel the employees to increase their productivity? What if the employees switch to using instant messaging services among their peers through their own cell phones or some other means of wasting time? Personal cell phones cannot be tracked nor can the activity that it's user is performing in it. This would mean that even if the employees are not using their workstations or the internet for personal use, they are still wasting time. The productivity does not increase, nor does the overall revenue generated by the company.

Lastly, the arguer implies that restricting internet usage has a direct consequence on employee productivity and comapany profits. The arguer thinks that if personal time on internet is reduced, productivity and profits increase. It could be true, but the arguer fails to provide any empirical evidence to support his claim. What if there are other factors that affect productivity and profits? What if the comapany has a poor working enviornment and provides no perks to it's employees? Tracking their internet usage could probably enrage them further, and instead of an increase in productivity, the company will probably observe a sharp decrease.

In sum, the evidences and the premises provided by the vice-president are incomplete and dubious. There are erroneous interpretations to every evidence provided, as a result, it cannot be categorically claimed if the vice-president's recommendation would be a success.