The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a recent recommendation to the president, the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries maintained that implementation of electronic monitoring device can restrict employers from wasting time and this will help to improve overall profits of the company. He asserted the statement based on the incomplete evidences and the assumptions are unwarranted. Therefore, further evidences are required before analyzing the viability of the contention.

The vice president believes that the unproductivity of the company is merely due to employers’ unnecessary use of internet. However, he provides no buttress to support the claim and also didn’t mention anything about other possible causes of the decrease of the company’s profit. For instance, it might be possible that the company’s lack of productivity is due to the use of old equipment, or it might be due to the lack of skilled workers. If any of these have merit then the argument is significantly weakened.

Similarly, is electronic monitoring best option? In other words, there might be other possible measures to increase the company’s revenue- like giving incentives to workers and also encouraging the employers by providing prizes. Moreover, the companies might include other programs that can enhance the capability of the employers rather than punishing for low efficiency. So, other possibilities needs to be considered before prior to the conclusion.

Furthermore, he assumes that the workers use the internet in the company’s computers only; what about the cell phones? Everybody use cell phones nowadays. If this is the case then using electronic monitoring device to control the employers is futile. Also, he believes that the workers can only waste time on online and didn’t mention anything about the type of the company. This information is essential before we can check the possibilities of the vice president’s assertion.

In sum, the argument as a whole makes several groundless assumptions and the evidence provided are inadequate. Therefore, aforementioned information is necessary to check whether the claim to use electronic monitoring device is suitable or not.