Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers are considered to be those individuals who step into a kid's life to guide them towards future success. A teacher is not only tasked with the educational development of a child but also developing the moral characteristics of a child. Owing to the importance of a teacher in a kid's life, teacher's salaries should be based upon their student's academic performance. I disagree with such a view point, since in my opinion, it does not do justice to the effort put in by teachers in developing a child's future. I will put forth, further reasoning behind my position in the paragraphs below.

We can all agree that each kid is different from another kid. A child might be a mathematics prodigy whereas another kid might excel in track activities. As a result, kids cannot be evaluated only upon their academic performance. If a bunch of kids excel in sports but fair poorly in academics, it does not mean that the teacher's salary should be reduced or that the teacher did not do their job adequately. Such a situation should make the school realize that kids should be placed into domains that they excel in. This would help the kids perform even better since they are pursuing a field of their own interest. Due to such an approach on the school's behalf, the performance of the kids will automatically improve and there would be no need to reduce the teacher's salaries.

Moreover, a fixed salary scheme helps the teachers, plan in advance, the activities they wish to perform next year. It might be the case that a teacher is waiting for her current year's salary so that she can add it to her savings and buy a house for herself. A steady stream of income helps the teachers, keep themselves motivated towards performing their job. On the contrary, if a few students do not perform well in their academics, because they did not put requisite efforts into their courses, will have a detrimental effect on the teacher's salary. She will pay the price for a mistake, she did not commit. Determining teacher's salaries with respect to the academic performance of their students does not do justice to the time a teacher put in towards educating their kids, and such a scheme could probably make teachers hate their jobs.

Proponents of the scheme would argue that such a scheme would ensure that teacher do not take a kid's future for granted. I agree that such an approach will ensure that teachers give their hundred percent while teaching the kids, but such a plan can sometimes lead to teachers facing the consequences of the mistakes that they did not commit. What if a group of students, who are not serious towards their academics, do not study properly for their exams, even though the teacher took special care to teach these kids adequately. This would mean that, in-spite of the teacher performing her task with utmost dignity, it is the students that are responsible for their own downfall, but it is the teachers who are facing the consequences of the kid's actions.

In sum, I am against the statement that teacher's salaries should be based upon their student's academic performance. In my opinion, teachers should not be scrutinized on the basis of how the kids perform, rather, it is ideal that independent committees are formed which will evaluate a teacher's performance, based on various factors that differentiate a good teacher form a bad one.