Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the given prompt, some anthropologists are of the opinion that in order to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be done via the interview-centered method. The reason for such an assertion is because the study conducted by Dr. Karp seems more convincing than the study conducted by Dr. Field and the arguer has provided evidence to support his claim. These evidence seem compelling at the first glance, although a closer examination might unearth a few alternate possibilities, which might undermine the arguer's position.

Firstly, the arguer has mentioned that Dr. Karp had recently visited a group of islands that also included Tertia and conducted an interview-centered approach to study child-rearing practices. Dr. Karp's findings are exactly opposite of Dr. Field's findings, hence the arguer is of the opinion that Dr. Field's study is incorrect. Such an assertion is incorrect because the arguer has stated that Dr. Karp conducted a study on a group of islands, not just Tertia. It could be possible that child rearing activities are different in Tertia. It could be possible that an aggregate of all the observations suggests that Dr. Karp's study is correct, but if we isolate Tertia, it may happen that Dr. Field's assertion was true. If such a case holds substance, then it would undermine the arguer's assertion that the study conducted by Dr. Field was incorrect.

Secondly, the anthropologists are of the opinion that in order to obtain accurate results about child-rearing activities in Tertia, an interview-centered approach should be adopted. There is a genralization made here which might be incorrect. The interview-centered approach was used for many islands including Tertia, but the anthropologists suggest that the interview-centered approach should be used when Tertia is being solely studied. Such a genralization might not hold true, since the arguer has failed to provide evidence about similarities between other group of islands and Tertia. It may be the case that when interview-centered approach is used to study child-rearing practices in Tertia alone, it gives results opposite to what was achieved by Dr. Karp. This could suggest that Dr. Field's study about child-rearing practices in Tertia were indeed correct.

Lastly, the arguer has stated that the study conducted by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp was seperated by a timespan of twenty-years. Such a timespan is a long time and it may be the case that the behavior of the people of Tertia may have evolved. It might be the case that Dr. Field's study was true twenty-years ago, but in the present scenario, Dr. Karp's study holds true. This would suggest that an observation-centered approach is not an incorrect way of conducting study, and it might be possible that if an observation-centered approach is employed, it gives similar results to an interview-centered approach. If this is the case, then it could be stated that the arguer has wrongly undermined the accuracy of observation-centered approach.

In sum, the evidence provided by the arguer are dubious and erroneous. They point to several alternate possibilities that undermine the arguer's position. As a result, without substantial evidence, it would be difficult to believe the point, made by the arguer, in the above prompt.