Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using

an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by

their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the

group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study

child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living

in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their

biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr.

Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists

recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices,

future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

While it may be true that interview-centered method could obtain more accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices than observation-centered approach does, the author fails to provide compelling evidence to support such a claim. Admittedly, interviewing children may generate more detailed information than pure observation, but the author's argument is plagued with assumptions and speculations, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me.

Citing the researches conducted by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp respectively, the author suggests that Dr. Karp's interview-centered approach obtains more accurate information and disproves Dr. Field's research, which was conducted in an observation-centered way. Therefore, the author appears to agree with some anthropologists who recommend that future research on this subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method. However, I must point out that Dr. Karp needs to explain in detail how his research disproves Dr. Field's research. Dr. Karp's research involves interviewing children from a group of islands that include Tertia, which may not be suitable for understanding Tertian culture itself. It could be possible that Tertian children, in the interviews, only represent a small fraction of the samples interviewed by Dr. Karp, so the research conducted on children from a group of islands is not suitable for understanding Tertia.

In addition, information obtained from the interviews may be distorted and untrue. For example, the interview questions may not be designed subjectly, and biased questions would almost certainly manipulate the interview results. Moreover, children may try to lie about their behaviors, hoping that their biological parents will not be sad or angry about their replies.

Finally, the fact the Dr. Karp's conclusion differs from Dr. Field's does not necessarily prove that Dr. Field's conclusion is invalid. Note that Dr. Field's research was conducted 20 years ago, so a lot of things might have been different now. Therefore, Dr. Field's and Dr. Karp's conclusions might both be true at the time they came out. It is likely that Dr. Karp's conclusion, which came out recently, might become obsolete twenty years from now. If this is the case, the difference in research methods do not affect the validility of researches.