The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The author asserts that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in many fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. While this claim seems to make sense, I must point out that competition is also a very important way to help develop leadership among young people, and therefore, should also take place is a society.

First, a lot of the achievements we have accomplished so far, as a society, result from competition. Technological development and upgrades of consumer products, for example, benefits from scientists, designers, and engineers competing with one another to attract consumers, leading to innovations. It was fierce competition in the mobile phone market that allowed Apple, the newcomer in the phone market, to revolutionize the way we interact with our phones by introducing its innovative iPhone. If there was not competition in the market, and companies collude with one another, newcomers to the mobile phone market, like Apple, may not succeed. Similarly, when it comes to educating a society's young people, competition is desired to facilitate development of skills and rapid growth among young leaders.

Admittedly, a balanced combination of cooperation and competition would be best suitable for preparing young people for leadership in the society. While competition is generally a good thing, cooperation is also desireble because there are many difficult accomplished that can only be achieved by groups of people working together. If a society wants a group of successful young leaders, it should not neglect either competition or cooperation.

In sum, I disagree with the author's claim that cooperation should be preferred over competition. I think both of them should play an important role if a society trully wants to raise young leaders in a reasonable way.