Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While it may be true that some leaders are created by the demands placed on them, I must point out that there also exists many leaders who started their leadership with few followers and struggled a lot to accomplish the things they are famous for.

First of all, many artists and designers were the first to develop a new form of art or a new style, which only became famous and accepted years after their introduction. The world famous Dutch artist Van Gogh, for example, painted some of the world's most famous paintings, but he remained unsuccessful and poor during his lifetime. Most of his paintings were yet to be sold when he commited suicide, but now, hundreds of years after his dealth, he is considered one of the greatest painters and his paintings can easily sell for billions of dollars. Van Gogh is undoubtfully one of the leaders of painting, but he was not created by the demands placed on him -- he was hardly influenced by his audiences because he met few, if not none, of them during his lifetime.

In addition, some leaders develop their leadership at a time where there were some demands placed on them, but no one knew what was demanded. Take the founding father of modern China, Sun Yat-sen, for example. It was in the early 20th century, China was still an imperial regime ruled by an emperor. Many Chinese peasents were discontent about heavy taxes, no social mobility, no freedom to move across the country, and many other constrains that have been placed on the peasents since ancient times, but they had no idea what they needed. Note that most farmers at the time did not spend a single day at school and most of them did not know anything about modern societies. Sun Yat-sen started a revolution that ultimately led to the collapse of Qing dynasty and the establishment of the first ever republic regime in Asia, it was because of Sun's leadershp that the Chinese peasents learned about and experienced democracy the first time.

In sum, even though some leaders are shaped by the demands placed on them, some leaders led to demands of things unprecedented. Therefore, I disagree with the author's claim.