Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

It is very true that having a group of people dominating certain fields like business, politics, education, government, etc., for extensive periods of time is undersible.

However, I do not agree with the author’s assertion that any leader should step down after five years. When people get a new position in a company, school, or government, they need time to get used to their new environment and new job. It is very likely that in the first few years, they need to acquire work experience and personal connections to be more competitive and efficient. If they have to leave their positions within 5 years, they need to constantly adapt to new jobs and environments, which is a bad allocation of time and effort. In addition, such an inefficient way of spending time not just affects those people themselves, but the people they work with and the people they work for.

On top of the waste of time, changing leadership frequently would inevitably lead to instability. If a company spends several years trying to make a deal with the government of another company, a change in leadership on either side might compromise this process, leading to significant chaos and undesirable business atmosphere. Long term business, educational, and political activities such as R&D process and infrastructure constructions may not exist due to such volatility.

While it is a better idea not to replace the leaders within 5 years, it is certainly not desirable to allow leaders to stay in power for extensive stints. We want the business world, education system, and politics to be dynamic and competitive while still having stability. When making the tradeoff between dynamics and stability, it is imperative not to lean too much toward either side.

In sum, five years is not long enough to keep stability and efficiency in business, politics, education and government at a desirable level, which is why I disagree with the claim.