Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new

generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early

age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Nature's Way would be very successful in opening its next franchise in Plainsville, the author's argument fails to present compelling evidence to support such a claim. Opening a health-related store at Plainsville, whose residents reportedly lead healthy lives, seems to ensure huge success, but the author's argument is plagued with assumptions and speculations, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me.

First, the author asserts that Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, which may be based on statsitics collected from stores operating in other places, but it remains questionable whether this applies to Plansville. It could be possible that Nature's Way used to operate in regions where residents have higher dispensible income, or higher propensities to consume. The author assumes that residents of Plainsville have economic conditions that are similar to other places, but we need to see evidence that supports this assumption, such as a comparison average household income between Plainsville and other towns.

In addition, the author mentions that there are many local health-related franchises operating in Plansville, such as stores that sell running shoes and exercise clothing, and health clubs that offer weight training and aerobics classes. It is very likely that Nature's Way would face competitions from local franchises, which have already attracted local consumers and have groups of fans. The author assumes that Nature's Way would encounter no problem when it enters this brand new market, without explaining why. Unless the author explains how consumers would prefer Nature's Way over other local competitors, it remains questionable whether Nature's Way would perform well in Plansville.

Finally, the author suggests that schoolchildren in Plansville are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which makes them potential customers. However, evidence is needed to prove that these children would actually become customers of Nature's Way. To begin with, we do not know how exactly this program works, other than its emphasis on regular exercise at an early age. Does it necessarily translate into sales at Nature's Way? We need more clarification from the author. Even if such a program requires schoolchildren purchasing sport equipments, does Nature's Way have the products dedicated to children? Do the parents prefer Nature's Way over other local businesses when selecting health foods, gears, and clothes for their children? The author fails to address these questions, so the assumption that schoolchildren would become customers of Nature's Way is not convincing.

In sum, the author's argument is not well supported by evidence. It may be true that Nature's Way would succeed in Plansville, but the author's reasoning is not compelling.