As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

It is very true that technologies have greatly transformed how humans live in the past few centuries, but I do not believe that we are less able to think for ourselves due to our dependence on technologies.

First of all, modern technologies have made knowledge more accessible than ever. Technological breakthroughs in the past allowed many of us to work fewer hours a day while still being able to feed ourselves and the children, so that we could afford spending years at school while not growing food ourselves. The typical life of an average child today consists of learning at schools, which is something that humans centuries ago may not understand, because most adults back then were iliterate and their families would need their children to help with raising cattle, watering plants, and other labor, instead of spending years of time acquiring knowledge.

Secondly, as technology develops, new problems arise. Today we are concerned about climate change, pollution, and running out of natural resources, all of which require decades of research and support from the entire human society to understand and deal with. Nowadays, all people interested in these issues can easily discover such topics because the Internet has distributed such information.

If we look at the history of humankind, we can see that we have become so different from people in the past. People centuries ago might perform human sacrifice, hoping that it would end a famine. People in the past might also rely on mysterious rites to cure diseases in vein. Technologies have freed us from spending extensive time worrying about these so that we could use our time on other meaningful things like personal achievements and life goals that used to be unimaginable.

In sum, I think it would be unfair to say that technologies have made us less able to think for ourselves. My reasoning suggests the opposite.