"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

The speaker asserts that a nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum till they enter college, defying reginal and personal differences.

Admittedly, a national curriculum may be less costly because schools, teachers, and textbooks across a nation can be standardized, reducing the time and money needed to develop a more diverse pool of courses. Students and families may also benefit from a more equalized education system, where children from rich and poor families learn the same things. However, I must point out that a compulsory national curriculum has many shortcomings, and we should allow schools and students to have more freedom in selecting courses.

First, regional differences play a huge role in course selection, especially in countries that have vast territories, such as the United States, China, and Russia. Simply put, one cannot expect children from the polar region to catch butterflies or make lizzard specimens in field trips. People from a certain region know what is best for them, so instead of having someone thousands of miles away making all the decisions, the local authority, schools, and students themselves can make better and more practical choices.

Secondly, people have different plans and goals for themselves: they want to be scientists, businesspeople, artists, athelets, etc. Imposing an universal curriculum would substantially compromise their ability to get the kind of education that works best for them. Specialization is very important because each role needs a certain set of skills, so limiting the diversity in school curriculums would inevitably lead to worse scientists, artists, athelets, etc., compared to other countries whose education systems are more reasonable.

Admittedly, a core curriculum is desirable because we want the students to have sufficient knowledge in a collection of fields so that they will not be completely ignorant in the subjects they do not like. This is why I believe a combination of national core curriculum and additional selective courses is a better choice.

In sum, forcing all schools to use the same national curriculum may be counter-productive. Doing so would be similar to forcing the entire population to watch the same television show or eating the same food, which is absurd. Diversity and specialization in curriculums are needed and students deserve to have a certain degree of freedom in choosing what they learn.