The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

While it may be true that Buckingham College ought to build a number of new dormitories to meet the needs of its propective students and become more attractive, the author's argument fails to offer compelling evidence to support such a claim. Building new dormitories may be beneficial to the school and incoming students, but the argument presented is plagued with assumptions and speculations, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me.

First, the author asserts that based on current trends, Buckingham's enrollment would double over the next 50 years. It is possible that such a claim is supported by statistics collected in the past several decades, but the author needs to explain how the prediction is made and prove its validility. Forecasting future enrollment would require predictions of the demongraphics in the future, economic conditions and affordability, and Bukingham's competitiveness compared to other schools, which, together with other data, jointly determine how many students would actually enroll in Buckingham. 50 years is definitely a long period of time, so there are many possible ways that the author's claim can be inaccurate. Unless the author can prove the validility of such a claim, the credibility of his argument that builds on this prediction would be in doubt.

In addition, the author claims that future students will find it increasingly hard to afford renting apartments in the town because the average rent has risen in recent years. Again, the author assumes that such a trend would persist, without explaining why. It could be possible that the risen housing price is a bubble like the housing market prior to the 2008 financial crisis, and perhaps the bubble would burst in the future, making housing prices drop back to normal rates. If the author insist on building new dormitories to provide affordable housing, he needs to prove that rent would keep rising.

Finally, the author suggests that attractive new dorms would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham, which needs explaination. It may be true that better dorms would give Buckingham an advantage over other schools, but it is questionable whether dorms place an important role in prospective students' decision. More attractive dorms, without any doubt, can be a tie breaker, but it may be possible that a school's location, reputation, financial aid, etc. are much more important.

In sum, the author's argument is full of assumptions and requires more supporting evidence to justify the need of building new dorms.