The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that imposing a restriction on developing the county's existing farmland would reduce the supply of new housing, leading to significant increases in the housing price, the council of Maple County fails to provide compelling evidence to support such a claim. Limited supply of new housing may lead to increased house prices, but the council's argument is plagued with assumptions and speculations, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me.

First, the council assumes that a restriction on developing existing farmland would limit the supply of new housing, which seems to make sense but the council needs to present us supporting evidence. It is very likely that the county can remove some of its low density residential areas and build taller apartment buildings that are more efficient in providing housing. Moreover, there may be many other types of land, other than farmland, that can be allocated to provide housing, such as abandoned industrial zones, land not attended because of poor urban planning, etc. Whether farmland is the only source of land that can be used to build houses? If not, the council's claim would be compromised.

In addition, the council assumes that the demand for housing is greater than the quantity supplied, or the price of houses would not increase. It could be possible that many residents of Maple County would migrate to other places, reducing the demand for houses and supplying empty houses in the housing market. Is the demand for houses greater than the supply? To better understand the housing market at Maple County, we need to see statistics and experts opinions on the dynamics of supply and demand, which the council fails to provide in its argument.

Finally, the proponents and opponents cite the results of similar restrictions in Chestnut County and Pine County respectively to support their opinions. It is worth noting that the similar restrictions were established ten years ago in Chestnut County and fifteen years ago in Pine County. A lot of things may have become different in the past ten or fifteen years, so evidence from Chestnut or Pine may not apply to the present. Moreover, Chestnut and Pine may be very different from Maple in terms of housing market, demographics, economic conditions, etc. Thus, it would be questionable whether these two examples should be considered, unless the council provides further explaination.

In sum, the council's claim that adopting restrictions on developing existing farmlands into residential housings would lead to increased housing prices at Maple is not compelling. Many questions need to be answered and more evidence is needed to justify its prediction.