The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it may be true that customers either do not distinguish butter from margarine or use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine, the business manager's argument lacks compelling evidence. The explaination may sound plausible, but it is plagued with assumptions and speculations, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me. Moreover, I can offer some alternative explanations that can account for the manager's observation.

First, the data that shows only about 2 percent of customers have complained does not necessarily mean that the customers are satisfied. For example, some people may be annoyed by the restaruant's service, but not to the extent that they would file a complaint or confront the managers. It could also be possible that some people are unsatisfied but they do not know how to file a complaint, or that the channels which complaints usually go through, such as hotlines, emails, and websites, are blocked. If this is the case, the actual pecentage of customers who want to complain would be significantly higher than 2 percent.

In addition, the fact that a number of customers do not complain when they get the wrong item does not speak for the entirety of customers. It could be possible that the servers would only report incidents where the customers choose not to complain because it is unusual. Suppose that most customers natually complain when given the wrong item, the ones who do not may appear to be weird and funny, and the servers would remember these uncommon customers and report such incidents when asked by the manager.

Finally, it could be possible that the employees of the resturants did not report what really happened. If the percentage of complaints becomes too high, servers and chefs may be fired or demoted, so when the number of complains increased due to the change, employees chose to withhold the real numbers from the business manager. If this is the case, it explains why the complaint rate is only two percent and why many servers reported a number of customers did not complain.

In sum, there are many explainations that challenges the manager's argument yet still account for his observation. More information is needed to determine the actual situation.