"Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated."

The speaker asserts that governments must financially support their major cities to let them thrive, because a nation's cultural traditions lie in these cities.

Admittedly, as a nation's population tend to concentrate in its major cities, a lot of artists live in the cities and continue to generate and preserve cultural masterpieces. In the cities, we can find museums, art shows, music performances, etc., which are icons of a country's culture. Paris, for example, is a city full of cultural heritage. However, I must point out that the cities are not the only places to find culture, and that places other than cities are also rich in culture.

Many countries have interesting and unique folk cultures, most of which originate in rural places. China, for example, has a unique culture that is based in its rural areas. Lion Dance is a recreation that the Chinese peasants developed hundreds of years ago to celebrate Spring Festival, hoping that the joyful dances would bring good luck to next year's harvest. Another example would be America's cowboy culture, which is an icon of American culture. People all over the world have watched movies that depict how cowboys fire pistols in duels and ride horses in America's West. Both of the aforementioned cultures originated and thrived in rural areas.

In addition, as urbanization allows a nation's population all across the country to live together, the cities serve as the melting pot of cultures from different regions of the country. Once a family from a certain place moves to a major city, they bring their folk culture there, but they also get influenced by other cultural groups in the city. Even though it is perfect fine to have interactions among cultures, people in the cities get accultured and homogenized, where the popular culture threatens the existence of each individual small culture.

In sum, while the cities are rich in cultures, it is also important to preserve folk cultures that reside in a countries rural places. A nation's cultural traditions lie in both cities and villages.