Government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive because it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

In this statement the speaker considers three points. 1) the survival of cities and cultural traditions is the proper function of government.2) for protection of two cases mentioned the support of government is needed.3) cultural traditions are primarily survived in big cities. I agree with this statement to some extent.

According to the first claim, I believe that subsidizing cultural traditions can be one of the duties of government but it is not the important one. The state budget must be used for more vital services that public need. In my experience, the function of government is more satisfying and commendable for people if it tries to use its budget for renovation of public services, such as transportation, medical services, road safety and schools. Also, many people believe that preservation of cultural traditions is a marginal duty of government, and in addition to this state cannot play an evenhanded role as cultural patron. This is because most of the time legislators do not have enough knowledge about cultural traditions and the ways of protection of them, and they may choose a way that is not acceptable for general populace. Also, officials may make act in favor of the cultural agendas of their own home town. This means they may make a decision based on their prejudice. It is also possible that they are tempted to decide in favor of lobbyists with the most money and influence. So, I believe that it would be better this duty not to relegate exclusively to government.

However, the financial support of government for survival of cultural traditions is necessary especially in the third world countries. In many first world countries, this part is supported by private sectors. For example, one of the social responsibilities of big companies, such as Microsoft is to spend money on the promotion of cultural centers. But how many of such companies can be found in poor countries? As a result, I believe that the only role that government should have is to support traditions financially. This budget can be collected with providing facilities for native people to show traditions to tourists and earn money in favor of conservation of such traditions. The main point that should be considered is that the protection of cultural traditions and the survival of cities is the responsibility of both government and people and they complement each other.

The speaker believes that the cities are the main center of survival of cultural traditions. I completely disagree with this point of view. Nowadays cities have lost their traditional façade, and they have become more modern without any trace of tradition. So, they cannot be a main center of cultural protection. We can see that most folk art, crafts, traditional songs, customs and ceremonies burgeon more in small towns or rural areas. Therefore, it would be more rational such regions to be supported with aim of protection cultural traditions instead of big cities.

In conclusion, in my view, government must interfere financially in realm of cultural protection and assisting small towns and rural regions would be the priority in this subject, as they have influential impact on cultural customs.