"The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written records."

The speaker asserts that videos have become a more important form of documentation than written records because they are accurate and convincing. Admittedly, videos can be filmed easily and seem to be realistic, but I must point out that written records have some advantages over videos.

First of all, written records can convey one's emotions and thinking process, which is something that videos may not. When writting a testimony, one can explain what they were thinking when they did something, such as "when I saw this person, she reminded me of someone I met in college, so I got interested and wanted to get her attention," which can help us better understand why and how something happened. Videos, on the other hand, only show us what was happening on the surface and lack explainations.

In addition, written records allow writters to narrate what was going on, so they can tell us what they experienced. For example, one can describe what something smells like in written words, and if s/he is good at it, we can feel that through vivid descriptions. There are many more things we cannot know for sure from videos, such as feelings of cold and hot, numbness, moisture, etc. Therefore, written records convey information that is beyond visual.

However, I must concede that written records are not the perfect way of documentation: not everyone is a good writer; people may not be aware of something going on near them; people experience memory loss and tend to overstate and understate things. Videos clearly do much better in these aspects while, as mentioned earlier, written records out-perform videos in other aspects, so naturally the two of them work hand in hand, providing us two different and important perspectives.

In sum, I admit that videos are a very good way of documenting things, but written records also have huge advantages over videos in some aspects. Neither of them is perfect, so a combination of both may be a better choice of documentation.