The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than writing records

The speaker asserts that video camera is more important form of documentation than written records because it provides more accurate and convincing recording of contemporary life. I agree that video recording provides an accurate and objective record; however, written records are also equally important in modern life and we use it more frequently than video recording under certain circumstances.

For the purpose of capturing different happy moments, national events, and live shows, I agree that video recording is more accurate and objective than written records. The video camera can be used to capture and replay happy moments of life such as birthday events, marriage ceremony and other auspicious occasions with the perfect memory which is not possible through written documents.

Furthermore, video recording can be a perfect witness under certain circumstances and plays an evidentiary role in legal proceedings. For instance, we can use video surveillance camera in department stores, jewelry shops, banks, book stores, and supermarkets to check human activities. Moreover, video recording can be used as perfect evidences while dealing with cases such as accidents, robbery, shoplifting, drug dealing traffic violations and so forth. Thus video recording provides an accurate account of the past events which is almost impossible through the written documents. Also, video camera can be used for the perfect recording of the natural disasters such as earthquake, hurricane, typhoons, flooding, landslide volcanic eruptions and so forth in an accurate way which is not possible through written documents.

Although video recording has many merits, written documents are also equally important in contemporary life. Under certain circumstances, written documents are more appropriate and advantageous than video recording. For instance, written documents are imperative in documenting statistical data and other quantitative explanations such as the total population of a particular city and the population distribution on the basis of age bar, sex, religion, caste etc, which can only be well documented by writing and is impossible by video recording. Similarly, it is impossible to make an accurate account of the total number of viewers, total number of tickets sold on the class basis and the total revenue garnered by the theatre in a particular day by simply analyzing the video recording of the viewers. For this, one should have to check the written records in the tickets.

Written documents are essential in everyday life from small business sales record to the large industries, government firms, banks, and hospitals. In hospitals, a written document is used at each and every place as a means of recording. The nurse keeps the written records of the condition of the patients each day such as fever, blood pressure, urine condition, medicines doses, respiration conditions and so forth. The same record facilitates the doctors to examine the general condition of the patients and improvement in health of the patients. More importantly, written documents are used in legal matters such as complex contractual agreements, legacy papers, banking transactions and etc. Similarly, written documents are equally important in keeping academic records and achievements and such types of documentations are not possible by video recordings.

In conclusion, both the video recording and the written documents have equal importance in making an accurate and convincing documentation of the contemporary life. The speaker simply overstates the importance of video recording over written documents