"It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public."

The speaker asserts that it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

Admittedly, some information is highly sensitive and must not be collected by foreign powers. For example, during the cold war, information about troop deployment, nuclear arsenal, covert operations behind enemy lines, etc., should be top secret, and even officals in the governments cannot obtain such sensitive matter without permission. However, I must point out that in addition to such information that deserves to be secrets, there exits many more information that should be disclosed to the public.

One of the most famous concepts in economics is called "principal-agent problem," in which an agent is selected to work for the principal, but due to the fact that the principal cannot fully monitor the agent, the asymmetrical information between the two sides results in the agent deviating from his boss's best interest and focus more on his self interest. In our case, political leaders are elected by the public, but instead of serving the best interest of the general public, politicians are more interested to obtain power, wealth, and other achievements. How can we better monitor the political figures to keep them in check? We need to ask them to disclose information kept secret from us, reducing the asymmetrical information that fosters the principal-agent problem.

In addition, some information is withheld so that politicians can keep the public away from the truth. For example, the Chinese government keeps information about the Tianamen Square Incident secret from the Chinese, so that they would not be outraged the truth and turn against their government. Moreover, the Chinese government censors books, songs, games, and television in China to keep the truth about the cultural revolution, Tiananmen Square Incident, and other unfortunate things that happened in the past.

In sum, while it is true that some information, such as the password of a country's nuclear weapon, should be kept secret, the people deserves to know more about the truth and what the political leaders have done.