Essay topics:

"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to advertising itself and its movies, the director's argument fails to address some important questions and lacks supporting evidence. Increasing spendings on advertising may be beneficial to the company, but this argument is plagued with assumptions and unanswered questions, and therefore, not strong enough to convince me.

The director assumes that the all of the company's movies are of high quality because the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies by movie reviewers increased. Several questions need to be answered to justify this claim. Do the positive reviews about specific movies speak for the entirety of a company's movies? It is possible that only a few of them get positive reviews, and the rest of them are considered terrible. Do the movie reviewers represent the audience of Super Screen? It is could be that while professional reviewers enjoy certain movies, most people do not. Does the increase in the percentage of positive reviews necessarily mean that Super Screen's movies would outperform their competitors? Other movies may have got much more positive reviews and become much more popular.

In addition, the director, building upon his or her judgement that Super Screen's movies need more publicity, suggests larger portions of next year's budget to be spent on advertising. However, it remains questionable whether spending more on advertisements would not have negative impacts on the quality of Super Screen's movies. It is very likely that by spending more on publicity, budget for filming or purchasing movies would be reduced. If this is the case, the overall competitiveness of Super Screen may decrease despite getting known to more people. Moreover, it can be questioned whether more expenditure on advertising is necessary. It could be that the way they reach to the public can be improved and more efficient ways can be discovered to advertise next year's movies cheaply yet more effectively.

In sum, the advertising director's reasoning is rife with speculations and one can challenge it with many questions. It may be true that spending more on reaching the public through advertising is an excellent idea, but the director fails to offer a compelling argument.