In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Is it possible to make significant contributions without being strongly influenced by past achievements at first? The speaker says no, but I disagree.

In the history, there were a lot of scientific developments that shocked the entire scientific society in the past but were proven correct. For example, when Darwin proposed the theory of evolution, many people laughed at his idea that humans evolved from other animals. If Darwin was strongly influenced by the past researches, who were more or less influenced by the Genesis, he would comply with the mainstream scientists at the time and his scientific discoveries might be delayed. Therefore, it is very important that one should not let the past achievements dominate one’s mindset and it is okay to challenge the mainstream.

Instead of completely overturning past establishments like Darwin did, some innovators choose to take a different approach and build upon others’ achievements. Steve Jobs and the Apple Inc., for example, revolutionized mobile phone with the introduction of iPhone. At the time, cell phones were equipped with physical keyboards and touchpen, but engineers from Apple did not let themselves strongly influenced by those, so they came out with iPhone, a combination of a cell phone, an iPod, and an Internet device. Such an innovation could not happen if designers did not think out of the box.

Even though it is important not to be heavily influenced by others, it would be a bad idea not learning about past achievements or blocking others’ criticism. To innovate or challenge established views, we need to objectively examine existing ideas at first. Little can be achieved if we are either completely ignorant or completely reliant on past achievements.

In sum, I think it is possible to make significant contributions without getting overly influenced by others.