In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The pioneers of that past define the basis of a field. Their contributions might not be partial, but they provide the path for the future generation to walk on. I agree with the prompt that, influence from past achievements within a specific field is essentially significant for the future generation to produce necessary achievements. Following are two reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Firstly, in today's world it is very difficult to predict the future trends with taking in account the past data set. The achievement made by the prior people working in the specific field, paves the way for the future generation to enhance it and, make this a world a better place. As progress is a continuous process, instead of a discrete one. A consistent enhancement to the traditional contribution, solves the everyday problem in a best way. For instance, Apple Inc. is considered to be the most innovative company in the history of technology, yet most of the groundbreaking products were created out of technologies invented earlier, many times by different firms. Like Graphical User Interface which was the central part in revolutionising the personal computers was actually pioneered by Xerox Corp. Consequently an indispensable path towards achieving progress it to access the past contributions and, using them to create something different and innovative.

Secondly, learning from past contributions in a specific field not only supports innovation but, also keeps a check on the progress, thereby eradicating any possibility of immorality and destruction. It is common for a technological development, which is very much in favour of humanity, to be used by some specific people or a group of people to full-fill their immoral deeds. For example, Nuclear energy was a breathtaking invention in the field on clean energy, it was sustainable and environment friendly. But, it didn't take much time for people to turn it into a weapon mass destruction, by using it to create nuclear bombs. Therefore, any new contribution to field should be done by keeping in mind the harmful and destructive traits of this world. And, learning from past contributions serves an important role in doing that, consequently eradicating the possibility of reverse-engineering.

Thirdly, some may argue that in some specific scenarios and conditions, using the traditional contributions for solving a current problem might be derivative and unoriginal. But, this assertion which argues the originality of a solution is less important than actually solving a specific problem in a certain field.

Conclusively, influence of past achievements is favourable in achieving the endeavours of current generations. As it helps in being progressive, as well as sustainable.