The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per the health newsletter, the Researchers recommend use of Nosinia for curing the the allergy symptoms as a conclusion of a study undertaken by them. But, the newsletter fails to provide the evidence in which we can definitely claim that Nasinia would work effectively as an anti-allergic. Following the are the assumptions which needs to be answered.

Firstly, while researching a new medical breakthrough, even if it is highly promising, we need to diligently and meticulously test it's implications, as well as predict and note down the side effects it can have on a patient. But, the study undertaken for Nosinia as an anti-allergic is not credible. As it is only incorporating 95 people as the dataset for extrapolating the conclusions. There is no info provided regarding the medical history of these people, the severity of their allergy, and the climate in which the drug is used. Therefore, these unanswered questions and the lack of evidence casts a serious doubt in the effectiveness of the study which favours the use of Nosinia as a trustworthy cure for the allergy. Instead solving the problem Nosinia might cause more trouble or in some unfortunate cases might be fatal.

Secondly, the newsletter states that neither the Nosinia nor the placebo rendered significant relief to the patients of mild allergies. But, later on it is mentioned in that newsletter that in most severe allergy symptoms, Nosinia turned out to be effective. There is no substantial evidence provided why the Nosinia was effective in severe allergies but not in mild allergies, what was the extent of severity or the medical history of these patients. Maybe this effectiveness of Nosinia on the severe allergy patients might be a medical anomaly. Or the immune system might be successful in working against the allergy by itself. All these points needs to be verified before coming to a definite conclusion regarding the use of Nosinia. Therefore the author of the newsletter should provide evidence for answering the above questions.

Lastly, the newsletter states that the patients treated with Nosinia were feeling healtier. But this is a very dubious term, Just because a patient is feeling healthier does not mean the disease has been treated completely and the patient is healthy. There should be tests undertaken to justify this claim. Or the patient should be kept under observation, so that symptoms do not come up again in future. Thus the claim that patients are feeling healthy is not good enough to substantiate the use of Nosinia. Therefore the author of the newsletter should provide more trustworthy evidence for it.

Conclusively, there are a lot of assumptions which are incorporated by the study which is prescribing the use of Nosinia, and needs to substantiated with evidences to hold water.