The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author provides us with various pieces of information that, researchers compared nosinia and placebo and that for the most severe allergy symptoms , the researchers reported that nosinia was more effective than the placeboin providing relief.The author furthur goes on to tell us that the participants given nosinia wre more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier, and is hence recommended to help with severe allergy symptoms. The author supports his arguments with several assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, it was mentioned that the comparison of nosinia and placebo was done only taking into cosideration"95" men and woman. And the participants seemed to have disagreed to the fact that nosinia and placebo were effective in the cure of allergies. one might also argue if this study was large enough or representative enough to draw such broad conclusions . In addition,if it is also the case that, the participants involved in study were inherently more immune to allergies and nosinia had little to no effect in aiding to the cure from the allergy, the author's contention that the nosinia was more effectivein providing relief than placebo does not hold water.

also, another major thing to be noted is that, it was mentioned that the 95 men and women participated in the study were only studied on the basis of their behaviour towards the seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen, and hence it is not proper to extrapolate the study and generalize it, and recommend using nosinia to all kinds of allergies and symptoms.

Secondly, the author only concludes that the researchers report that , for most of the severe allergy symptoms, nosinia was more effective than placebo in providing relief. However, one might question if the reports were indeed true, considering that there weren't any data points or numbers provided to us representing the same. also, the reports only claim that the herbs were effective in providing relief but not the complete solution to the allergy. if this is the case , thenthe auhtor's recommendation to use nosinia will have little to no effect in supporting the argument.