The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The greatness of any individual is generally measured in terms of the number of contributions that he/she has made to the world and how capable are these contributions to stand the test of time. it can however be argued that, the greatness can also simply lie in how well a person was able to handle a situation, or bring about a change or create an awareness. but its only after the demise of an individual that his greatness is truly spoken of or regarded. Although there can be exceptions of individuals whose greatness was shared and enjoyed by their contemporaries too, i would like to elucidate my views by sticking to how the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, and often not by their contemporaries.

Firstly, a mere glance into history bombards us with lots of examples of greatest of scientists whose discoveries were merely disposed of or not approved by their contemporaries and fellow mates simply because they couldn't really understand the discovery, or may be because it stood against the beliefs of most of the then famous scholars, or sometimes even because the other scientists worried that they might be proven wrong and that the other one could get the fame. A lot of inventions and discoveries which date back to several centuries are still known to be relevant and accurate. For instance, a common misconception or belief that the earth was flat or that the sun revolved around moon was known to be prevalant for quite some time until Galileo proved that it was wrong. And for this brilliant discovery of his, he did face criticism from his contemporaries but is now being celebrated . there are many more similar examples that include the theory of relativity,quantum theory and like-alikes.

More diverse examples could be the lives of many great saints and sages, who are known to have lived an examplary life and yet criticized by the people of their times. lives of swami Vivekanada, swami Yogananda, and other great saints stand testimony to this. even in the present world, the good deeds and merits of an individual are regarded only after the person leaves his body. there seems to be a sudden pour out of love and respect for deceased who had been tortured,bullied and criticized throughout his life.