The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at

fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men

and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported

that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most

severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than

the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given

Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We

therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would

help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that nosinia could be used to cure severe allergy symptoms may seem logical at first glance due to the claims the author used in underpinning this argument. However, the author failed to consider some salient points which could be used to either prop or undermine the argument. With the negletion of these points, that argument is totally flawed. Thus, some questions need to be answered in order to determine the validity of this argument.

Firstly, the author assumed the amount of people involved in the analogy is sufficient enough to determine the effectiveness of both Nosinia and the placebo. The argument stated that 95 men and women with seasonal allegies were studied. How are these ninety five people selected? What was used to determine the amount of people selected in order to investigate the effectiveness of both the nosinia and the placebo? With the author’s failure in providing this signigicant information, the argument seems flawed.

Secondly, the author failed to provide initial health information of the participants. From the argument, the author stated that the participants were people with “seasonal” allergies to ragweed pollen. Being seasonal means these participants do not experience frequently but at a particular period of time. Thus, were these participants seriously affected by these symptoms or were they mildly affected by these symptoms? Were the symptons conspicuous during the administration of nosinia? Perhaps, the drug might have been administered in the absence of the symptom. Thus, assuming the participants were healthier due to the use of nosinia is incongruous unless these questions are answered.

Thirdly, the author failed to show if nosinia was the only drug used in treating severe allergy symptoms. Were there no other drugs administered with nosinia? Were the participants on other medications before the use nosinia? How was nosinia administered and how was placebo administered? Nothing in the argument indicated that the participants’ use of only nosinia led to the participant’s improved health. Nosinia might have been administered with some other anodynes or other elixirs. Thus, unless these questions are answered, the argument remains invalid.

However, for the author to bolster this argument, the author needs to provide answer to questions about the determination of amount of people used in investigating the effectiveness of both the placebo and nosinia. Also, the author need to provide answer to questions about the participants’ wellbeing when the drug was administered. Apart from this, the author also need to answer questions regariding the administration of nosinia; was it the only drug administered? The answers to this questions will point whether the argument is valid or invalid.

In conclusion, the argument that nosinia could be used to cure severe allergy symptoms left several questions unanswered which seriously weakens its validity. Unless answers are provided to these questions, the argument remains invalid. Thus, the author might be making a major mistake by assuming that nosinia is an effective antidote for severe allergy symptons.