The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

"A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same

period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent

of those riders feel 'much safer' on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don't. Clearly, the best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

To think that the residents of Welzaton city take more risks because of their increased trust in helmet usage seems plausible based on the series of surveys cited. While one study cited that the number of residents using helment spiked over a period of ten years, another survey cited the increase in accident over this same period. However, the author failed to consider other factors that might have swayed the cited surveys to breed such results.

Firstly, the surveys cited compared the city’s recent status to that of ten years ago. The author failed to put into consideration, the various changes in the society. For example, if the number of cyclist has waned over the years. Or if the number of cylist who use helmets has ebb over the period of ten years. Nothing in claim talks about the changes in the city. Perhaps, the shortcuts that the cyclist could have taken are no longer as safe as they were ten years ago. Or prolly the tiny routes these cyclist might have taken became congested over time. Ergo, for the claim to maintain its validity, the author need to account for different changes in the society that must have spur the cyclist to prefer main road trip to secluded roads.

Secondly, the author failed to consider how the surveys cited were conducted. Two surveys were conducted over a period of ten years. But we do not know the number of people that participated in those surveys. A trend that span through the claim was the use of percentage rather than real values. Ten years ago, 35 percent residents use helmet. What if the population then supercedes the milieu’s present population? What if the previous survey subsumed all corners of the settlements while the present survey only considers an aspect of the city? To enhance the claim made, the author needs to show the number of participant in the survey without omitting the method adopted in conducting the survey.

Lastly, the claim failed to consider other factors that must have led to increase in road accidents over time. There must have been an upsurge in the city’s demography over time. This increment must have led to an increase in the number of road user, hence, the number of feckless drivers. The number of conveyances in the settlement must have rised as well. Thereby increasing the number of casualties faced by cyclist on a circadian basis. Hence, the author needs to account for other causes of the increased accidents before the claim is aserverated.

In conclusion, assuming residents love plying the busy roads because of increased trust in safety headwear is erroneous as other factors that must have stimulated these cyclist were overlooked.