The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whe

A memo made public by the Welzaton City Commission argues that an increase in the popularity of helmet use has caused a rise in the number of accidents. The commission came to this conclusion based on the surveys conducted. However, certain assumptions have been made in the argument that needs to be evaluated to determine the validity of the argument. Three questions need to be answered.

First, are the present conditions of Welzaton City roughly the same as they were ten years ago? It might be a possibility that the area witnessed an increase in the population and hence the amount of traffic on the roads. With more cars traveling from one place to the other, the chances of accidents become higher. It can be a possibility that with the increase in the number of people, the proportion of young drivers increased dramatically. These individuals generally have less experience and can be expected to cause fender benders. If this is true, then the authenticity of the argument will be dramatically weakened.

Second, is the information provided by the surveys legitimate? It might be possible that the method of collecting information was not scientific. The data collected might constitute a sample that is not representative of the entire population of the bikers. It is also possible that the questions were framed in such a manner to produce biased results. If these conditions are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Third, does ‘feeling safer’ necessarily promotes carelessness on the road? It might be possible that bikers who used helmets used sidewalks for commuting. People who are concerned with safety definitely will not want to jeopardize their health by overlooking safety rules. This beats the purpose of using the helmet in the first place.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is significantly flawed given the unwarranted assumptions the author has made. If more evidence is provided, perhaps using the information from a systematic scientific study, the validity of the argument can be greatly improved.