The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

“A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent of those riders feel “much safer” on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don’t. Clearly, the best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memo, the author concludes that since bicyclists nowadays feel more confident, and are not afraid of taking more risks, there is an undeniable increase trend in bicycle related accidents. The author comes to this conclusion based on several premises, which if correct, could indicate that the argument holds water. However before the conclusion can be adequately assessed, the author should provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to increase the persuasiveness of the assertion.

To begin, the author wrongly juxtaposes two different surveys which were realized in a ten year gap. The world is witnessing an unstoppable change in a lightning speed that it is nearly impossible to compare surveys done in different time intervals. Ten years ago it was a huge burden to be able to reach a representative group to bring about sound conclusions. But now, everything is interlinked, and it is just a matter of two clicks on the screen - even no need for human interaction. Since it is more convenient and affordable for companies to reach people, the surveys are more comprehensive and more enlightening anymore. In the light of this fact, one can surely ask whether the interviewees ten years ago represented a determinant sample? For example how many bicyclists were questioned for the survey? If one of these conditions are true, the persuasiveness of the author is diminished significantly.

Furthermore, the writer mistakenly correlates two different types of helmets- one created ten years ago, one high tech. Perhaps helmets of ten years ago were not even that helpful compared to the new ones when it comes to collusions and accidents thanks to the opportunities created by technology. Nowadays helmets are not only more effective during collusions but also more technological. They are lighter, more durable and most importantly more affordable. This may be the main reason under the fact that people are using such equipments. The author also should consider this reality when driving conclusions.

In addition, the author assumes that the number of serious accidents related to the bicycles is much more higher nowadays than ten years ago. Human beings created such a world that everything is intertwined now, so that, when one accidents occurs it is just a matter of a couple of minutes job for the police to learn about it. In this case, of course reporting is inescapable. Was it the same ten years ago? It was not that hard to hit and run and never be found. But now, there are security cameras all over the streets and main roads, there are collusion detector systems on the roads that inform police momentarily. As seen, the author should consider above to be able to reach a sound conclusion.

Overall, the author leaves too many questions unanswered and thus, is less likely to persuade the readers of the memo.