Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Each individual becomes who he or she is with the accomplishments and failures of his or her own. Thus, the importance of the path he or she went through plays a crucial role in the years ahead. In this sense, since I believe that knowledge about the past gives humans in general and rulers in specific a wide perspective and strong character, I strongly believe that having an idea about the past plays a crucial role in the future of people.

Firstly, it should be mentioned that each person lives only once, and he or she should spend this precious span of time wisely to be able to have a fruitful and happy life. One of the most important factors to this end is to learn from the mistakes of past, which eventually will make people more mature. What mature people do successfully is to draw lessons from the past and respond to new events accordingly. Actually the ability of inference mainly depends on this factor. If a person is evaluating his or her past, calculating the mistakes, wrongdoings and errors, he or she will probably be more careful the next time he or she faces a similar situation. For example, we are witnessing a terrible time interval in history, which is hindering our basic social needs; we can't even leave our houses, let alone come together with the ones we love. The question is, who will overcome this hardship? The ones not wearing mask, and not social distancing people? Apparently, people who know about the past, and not far away past like Spanish Flu or Chicken Pox time. A couple of years ago we had Pig Flu, Bird Flu and many other kind of diseases, and as people who witnessed that era is acting more carefully nowadays. Because they know that, his phenomenon can get out of control if not taken seriously. Because they saw the peril before and now moving accordingly.

Secondly, we should also consider the issue in the international level, since government representatives are also human beings. But in this case, the effects of their decisions are not confined to them only. They concern millions of people. For example, economic policies are one of the most important factors for voters to determine the ruler for a specific period of time. What shapes the ideas of these voters, then? According to what, do they choose a candidate? Above all, how did the candidates become successful to be candidates? Because becoming a candidate is much more difficult than becoming the winner. Because in the final there are only a handful of people, yet for candidacy there are many more people competing. A candidate is the one who beat them all and come that far. Can a person whose knowledge about the economic history is scanty can be a candidate? Not a chance. If he or she does not have an idea about what happened in the past, can have any opinion on how to handle recent problems? Because the society is more or less the same, hence, the problems of the past and the upcoming ones. In the end, in any political race, if we look at the candidates they are all knowledgeable people, who have a saying about the past of the society. Actually it is this ability that gives them the courage to deal with possible problems if they are chosen.

However, there were always people mentioning about redundancy of the past, complaining about history lessons, degrading historical figures, and there will always be. If we look at the numbers of this kind of people, they are always a minority and that is it. They are incapable of having enough power to make themselves heard, since they are always marginal and ideas they support mainly does not attract mainstream media since they lack logic. All in all, it can be said without hesitation that people who care to learn about his or her past is inclined to be more successful in the life ahead.