Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Past things have an influence on most of the things we are doing today to prevail in something important. Things that were happened in the past can surely create a way to make important decisions for the ease. In response, the prompt suggests that there is no relation between most of the decision we took today to the past although we are aware about the past – that we encountered. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt and suggest two scenarios to understand the issue and give my support opposite to the prompt. Although I do concede that, If the things can be done with the help of totally new idea, which was not related to the past, then knowing the past cannot help people to make important decision.

Things that were did in the past can be pedantic for the refreshers in the field. They can see and understand the way people did in order to get or success in something. It can help them to do the similar task in a way similar or different than their antecedent as per their success or failure cases. For instance, if someone in the past uses the technique of using swords in the war to vanquish, and he didn’t success then the newcomer in the field may use something like gun (or even nuclear weapons) for triumph in the war. Likewise, if someone in the past used swords in the war and he conquered, then the newcomers will also use the swords in the war in order to prevail in the war, in the similar situation. All this scenario suggests that the activities or things that someone uses in the past can be the formula, bequest, or a way to achieve success in the present, if he uses the similar hammer for similar nail.

All the successful discoveries made till today are the complete activities comprises of numerous tasks did in the past. These activities are like sea water which is accumulated today in the sea due to the flowing activities of water in the river in past, which let it to mix with the sea water in order to form a sea. Which means sea today is complete sea due to the river water yesterday. For instance, if some of the minor findings in the scientific fields are not discovered in the past then there are very few discoveries made till now and we have to discover such minor things in the past in spite of the whole discovery made today. It doesn’t mean the minor things in the past are not crucial discoveries. They are important – important at that time in the field of science. However, such discoveries are now becoming the rudimentary case for most of the important findings today. Likewise, the big achievements today will be the base for even major discoveries in the future and the chain will continue. In this scene, the past must help for most of the important decisions made today suggesting the past is link to the present and present is linked to the future suggesting present will be past for future.

However, in some instances like the decision is influenced only by the things present today and not in the past cannot help the decision made today. Take the case of COVID-19 pandemic. If similar pandemic were encountered in the past and the cure for such epidemic were made, then the medical researchers today were not taking much time to discover the medical treatment (for cure) against such pandemic. In finding the cure for COVID-19, there were not many bases in the past and the things are totally independent of past. If researchers have encountered the cases of such things in the past, then it will very fast for them to discover cure for such things. Although, in some instances the past is independent of most of today’s decision – like the case of pandemic - the success of almost most things is really dependent on the past which portray the path for them. If we follow the past, it will be ease for us to take our decisions. In order to complete the things in simple way, past can help us in many circumstances.