The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all females will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation made by the president and administrative staff of Grove college is that for keeping the morale among the students at college it is alright not to matriculate male students in the college and remain female centered college as it is from century. Also, they come to this conclusion because they believe that the financial supporting is mostly from the alumnae of the college, and they voted in opposing the coeducation. However, before the recommendation can be properly promulgated, three question must be answered.

First of all, they assume that enrolling male student to the college won’t improve morale among students. They might be pretty sure that the boys lack morale and enrolling them to the college will worsen the rooted female student’s morale. Do all male lack morale? Or Does female don’t lack morale? There might be some college who only enroll male students. Do such college lack morale? There is no guarantee that female will not lack morale or male will lack morale among students. Also, Enrolling male to the college may enhance it among the students. If all of these cases are true, the argument of the author doesn’t make any sense in the recommendation.

Secondly, the college administration staffs, and president might believe that the college financial condition is at supported level mainly due to alumnae of the college and since they voted against non-enrollment of male students to the college and opposed coeducation, going against them will result in decrease in revenue. How can they be pretty sure that if they go against alumnae, they will stop supporting the college finance? They may support the college more as college have to output more empowerments who can assist alumnae. Also, the alumnae may directly involve in the college activities for prospering it in coeducation after the college remains same even after the matriculation of male students. If either of these cases is true, then conclusion drawn upon the stated recommendation is significantly weakened.

Lastly, the college staffs and president want to favor 80% of the students who voted against not making the college coeducation. What if other 20% students experienced that having coeducation cannot decrease the morale among students rather it increases student morale? They might be true that going coeducated will assist them in studying much better. Also, they may research that having coeducation can enhance college’s financial condition rather than impeding it. These scenarios also suggests that, if these are true than the staffs and presidents’ recommendation so not hold the water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If college administrative staffs and president is able to answer the three questions above and provide more tangible evidence in supporting the conclusion, then it will be possible for evaluating the viability of the recommendation proposed above not to enroll male students to Grove College.