The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article from the business magazine suggests that lesser the executive is needing the sleep, higher the productivity. In response, the author of the article comes to this conclusion based on the fact study among 300 male and female mentain advertising executives. The study shows that the executive who needs less than 6 hours of sleep are more productive than those who require more hours of sleep. However, before these results can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is there any suggestion that the time of executives’ others than time for sleep are being utilized in work in order to be a productive? In other words, what if the productive executives are giving the same effort as as executives who need more than 6 hours. Perhaps the executive who is not productive is giving an effort to the firm only in the time of office and executives who are giving more time for firm's work even after office time. Also, executives needing more sleep are even better than those who need less sleep if they are giving time to work even after office time. If both of these scenarios are true, then the position in the argument do not hold the water.

Secondly, is there single task for single executive in the office? or in clear, don’t in the firm all the executives are reliant on each other’s work? if such case is true then the success of one executive is possible only by the support of other. The other person might be one who requires more hours of sleep and successful person may be the one who is needing 6 hours of sleep on average. Also, If this case be true than there is a false outcome of the report suggesting that executives needing less hours of sleep are the productive one. In such a condition, the conclusion of the argument above might be weakened.

Lastly, what if executives who state needing of 6 hours of sleep are lying in the study and the executives who requires more hours of sleep are true? the executives who stated that they require only 6 hours of sleep may be one with more productivity and the executive requiring more hours of sleep are less. Also, the executives (Whoever they are: either requiring less hours of sleep or requiring more) all are lying. if such scenario is true, then in such circumstances the position of the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its excessive reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer three questions above and offer more obvious evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed suggestion of hiring only people who needs less than 6 hours of sleep per night.