The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College states that the institute shall not permit men into its programs in order to preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education. It also states that the governing committee shall undermine the voice of its faculty members which voted in favor of co-education and conform to students’ and alumnae interest to continue its all-female education policy.

The assertion and recommendation made by the president and administrative staff of the institute to the governing body is flawed. Primarily, students are transient, that is they are present at the institute for a tenure until the completion of their desired program. Whereas the faculty members are the ones who stay for a longer duration of time and are aware of what is beneficial for the institute in the long run. Thus, ignoring their viewpoint would seriously make them disinterested in thinking about the wellbeing of the institute in the future.

Secondly, there might be several reasons behind the student’s inclination to support all-female education which are not clearly stated. A simple survey cannot delve deeper into the feelings of the students as to why do they prefer all-female education and oppose coeducation. A general assembly or meeting can be called so that the students can easily voice out their opinions. Only then a wise decision can be made by the governing committee which would affect the future of Grove College.

Thirdly, the institute shall aim for improving the quality of their education, academic activities which would bring in attention and monetary support from other sources and shall not worry about funding from its alumnae.

In the end, it can be said that the entire recommendation is unwarranted in the light of above discussed points. Further discussions within the committees might help in making a wise decision which considers everyone’s point of view.