The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council is recommending building a municipal golf course and resort hotel in the town like the one opened, around two years ago, in the town of Seaside Vista. This recommendation is due to the outcome of increase in the visitors besides increment in the collection of tax money which would enable the town of Seaside Vista to improve its current infrastructure such as roads and bridges. This recommendation has several unanswered questions which needs attention before the recommendation is enacted upon.

Primarily, is the town of Brindleburg comparable to the town of Seaside Vista? That is, variables such as demographics and other factors influencing a town’s financial success same for both the town? Perhaps, the town of Seaside View can accommodate such increased influx of visitors but Brindleburg has its own limitations. The town of Brindleburg might not even have sufficient land to construct the proposed infrastructure right where the heart of the town is (which is what tourist loves to explore; the true identity of the town and its people). It might even be the case where the town of Brindleburg has less amusements for the visitors despite the golf course and resort hotel. Thus, the new buildings just added to the already flourishing tourism of Seaside Vista. It is also highly possible that the public’s mindset towards tourist is completely opposite from those of Seaside View, that they are not as congenial as Seaside View’s residents.

Secondly, the steep rise in the number of business loan applications might not even be the right stick to measure the overall upliftment of the town. What is the exact number of applications which the bank approves for their business loans? And how many businesses successfully turn their venture into a profit making machine and actually contribute to the tax money of Seaside View, might give the right measurement of the town’s increment in tax collection. Additionally, these loan applications might be for business ventures outside of the town of Seaside View and the business owners are applying to the local banks because of the ease of convenience, that is nearness of banks’ branch to their home.

Even if all the above arguments are accounted for and questions are answered with appropriate data, how long did it take the town of Brindleburg to recover the expenses of constructing the new golf course and resort hotel? Since such an endeavour require huge amounts of capital and there is a break-even point where the income has now fully recovered the money involved during the construction phase. With mere 20% increase in visitors (that too not specified whether its monthly, annual or over the period of two years) is not sufficient data to indulge in another major activity of building the golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg.

In sum, we see that the recommendation needs bolstering data as evidence to hold water in order to achieve the desired outcome.