The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Learning is an ongoing process. Humans often learn from their mistakes is a hackneyed statement. Instead, humans constantly judge their surroundings and incessantly interpret things happening around them and create a their own viewpoint based on their morale, previous experiences and feelings. On the other hand, teaching is exactly the cause of learning. Humans are constantly being taught subconsciously by their surrounding activities, by their acquaintances and by their inner self. But, is focussing and appreciating just the positive action and abjuring one’s view of negative actions the best way to teach? Most certainly not!

Since childhood, kids are taught several things; manners, behaviours, speech, academics (knowledge about the world). There are instances where children go awry and show uncouth behaviour at times. For instance, children are specifically obsessive with their toys and they are taught to be kind and to share their belongings with other children but at times they ignore their teachings and start behaving erratically. If children were just praised for their good actions, it would be as if weight is being added to one side of a weighing scale; when a balanced scale is the ideal condition. Thus pointing and censuring children when they behave erroneously would make them sure to not repeat such behaviour again ever; instead if ignored, children are tender enough to not understand what is right and wrong, what is positive and negative, what is good and bad, would lead to another instance of such a negative action.

Rewards and punishment, is a type of mechanism deployed to train a machine learning model. A rudimentary and most fundamental algorithm in the realm of machine learning is reinforcement learning where at its core the system’s goal is to maximise a numerical reward. It is “taught” to behave using the mechanism of rewards and punishment. Whenever the model/system behaves against the ideal path, it is punished by taking a hit on its numerical reward. Thus in order to create an ideal, becoming algorithm it has to be taught by praising its positive actions (with positive reward) but moreover its negative actions are not ignored.

To sum it up, teachings are just not only the accolades of positive actions but a perfect and delicate balance of censure and praises.