The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument, that in order to preserve the region of coastal wetlands of West Lansburg’s biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment the West Lansburg council should reject the proposal for building an access road along the edge of the wetlands put forward by the advocates of local development, is not entirely logical and inherently flawed due to the several unstated assumptions.

Primarily, the statistical data belonging to the exact number of tufted groundhogs present at the time of this proposal is missing. The population of the animal for the given period will indeed play an important role in acceptance of the proposal. Further the time period for “Ancient Records” is also a critical factor in determining the proposal’s consideration. However, there might be a possibility that the current population of the tufted groundhog has outnumbered to be considered for a wildlife sanctuary and that the council can permit construction of an access road along the coastal wetlands.

Secondly, the comparison between the Eastern Carpenteria and coastal wetlands of West Lansburg is preposterous. If comparison is being made, then the data should be provided in which ways are the lands similar. What is the area of protected land, what is the nature of biodiversity being protected and what is the environmental conditions prevailing in both the lands. Given answers to such questions would then provide a solid ground for making a witty comparison between the lands and only then a wise decision be made regarding the infrastructure building.

Thirdly, repealing the sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria’s land might not be the sole reason for the decline of sea otter’s population. There is a possibility that other factors, such as rapidly changing enivornment conditions, lack of availability of food, exposure to excessive predation, exploitation of the lands by greedy humans, played a critical role in plummeting the sea otter’s population. And the fact that there is a wide gap in the time period of 1978 and 2004 raise questions about the integrity of the comparison being made. If these particulars are meticulously considered only then preventing the decline of population of the species is possible after an access road’s permission is granted.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions such as lack of statistical data of current population of the species, several pillars of comparison between the two conserved areas.