The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the memo, based-on the previous year sales at the newest store of the chain of cheese stores, was of domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. This led the owner of the chain of stores to conclude, along with the myopic survey by the Cheeses of the World magazine, that to increase the profits in all their stores is to stock more of domestic cheeses and discontinue selling the varieties of the imported cheese. The logic provided by the owner is dubious, lacking ground and unconvincing.

The memo and its conclusion which the owner draws is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, looking at the statistics of a newly opened store where all of the five best-selling cheeses were the domestic cheddar doesn’t necessarily mean that customers of the Cheese store across its different chains/stores prefer domestic cheese. The customers of newly opened store and their predilection for a particular variety of cheese doesn’t necessarily represent the interests and preferences of customers across other stores of the chain. Thus, in considering the statistics of just one particular store in taking such a drastic decision would potentially mean losing customers who would prefer other kind of cheeses from other stores of the chain, which would in turn harm the profits of the cheese store.

The survey conducted by Cheeses of the World can be coloured by numerous variables namely demographics such as the sample size, the region from where the survey takers hail and their innate preferences for the type of cheese. Further how recent was the study conducted? Since, humans are fickle-minded, their predilection towards taste at any given point of time may vary significantly. If the survey were to consider all the factors affecting the outcome, then it is wise to react according to the survey’s result which would actually end up in a favourable outcome for the store owner.

The owner also assumes that the major expense for their business is solely the inventory expense and discontinuing stocking of imported cheese would lead to reduction in overall cost and increase their profits. Upon delving for assumptions, the domestic cheese might require a different standard of logistics and storage environment which would, instead of cutting the store’s expenses, increase its other types of cost.

In the end, it can be said that the entire decision made by the owner is flawed and requires more sturdy facts and figures inorder for the owner to achieve his desired outcome.