The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

Who is your favorite artist? Do you think that they are the most talented in the world? Your and my answer would differ because talent is subjective. Your honest assessment for an artist and mine are likely discrete. The prompt posits that people cannot correctly assess the famous musicians’ natural talent until the musician has been dead for several generations. Reason being that his fame is likely to interfere with an honest assessment from his contemporaries.

To being, let us deliberate over the authors’ contention that fame prohibits our honest assessment. Implying that fame crowds our judgment, we fail to think critically and make a fair assessment. This statement equates to that, just because someone is famous, people like their music without ever critically thinking about the artist. Firstly, we should sit back and think how many people try to be a musician. The answer is thousands if not millions, countries like Korea have schools/programs dedicated to making a career in music where people as young as seven enroll to be the next K-pop stars. An interview with the girl band Twice revealed that the girls had enrolled in the camp at a tender age and had been preparing for the past five years in the hopes that they would someday make it. Music is a highly competitive vocation. Artists put in much work to make it big. It should also be fair to say that those who make it have carved a path for themselves; they have stood out and captivated the audience and have become famous for a reason. Naysayers may say that artists often get fame through serendipity. Even if you entertain the thought of someone getting famous by chance, you will see how hard it would be for them to survive in their brutal vocation. To stay in this industry, an artist has to be talented in what they do; otherwise, hundreds are waiting to replace them.

Furthermore, I would like to note some observations about ourselves. We are ever-evolving; what we want today might repel us tomorrow. To support this claim, let me tell you about when I was in high school. I enjoyed listening to bands like the All-American Rejects, Simple Plan, everything emo, and rock in high school, and now years later, I appreciate a throwback. However, my tastes have evolved, now I am more into Country.

Similarly, I believe that any assessments we make now about popular music are likely to grow as we mature. What we like now might not be what we want later. When I was younger, I thought that The All-American Rejects were the most talented and the very best. Now, my reassessment makes me construe that that might not be the case, now I feel like Thomas R. is very gifted. The ephemerality of preference can be convince that our tastes change with time. It is not that an artist’s fame was proscribing our honest assessment. However, just because we evolve, we make different assessments as time passes.

On the other hand, contenders may solicit that many artists are only recognized posthumous. For example, when XXentacion was alive, I barely heard his songs. When he died of a drug overdose, many people like me first heard about him on the news or Instagram in our friends’ stories. With the increasing access to technology and a plethora of genres to listen a slew of artists are lost, oblivion to most of us. It is only when the artist meets his end and makes it to the forefront on the news or over the internet is it when we first encounter him. I would argue that XXentation was a great artist. To add, I would have appreciated his music if he had ever been introduced to me before his death. His fame would have made his music more accessible to me, but it would not change my assessment of his talent.

Finally, I would like to rest my case with this, music, and talent is a subjective entity. Just as we evolve, our tastes evolve, it is likely that our assessments might change in the future. The argument, asserting that the natural talent of famous musicians is not correctly assessed until several generations after as it stands now, is weakened for the reasons mentioned earlier.