The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above recommendation, the author argues that Grove College should remain an all-female college despite most of the faculty members' votes in favor of co-education. The author bolsters his argument based upon the premise that maintaining an all-female education policy will improve morale among students and more alumnae will support the college financially. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author strengthens his argument for co-education based on the report that a majority of faculty members are in favor of co-education without providing any admissible evidence. One may raise a question about the authenticity of the report. In other words was the sample size representative? There is a possibility that on the day of the survey more than half faculties were absent then one can not argue that the report was legitimate. In that case, providing a conclusion based on very small sample size is seriously fictitious. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart about all the faculties’ opinions about the co-education then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues against the decision of admitting male students based on the premise that 80 percent of the students are against the decision without providing any necessitate evidence. One may ask a question about the legitimacy of using a percentage. A percentage is a tricky situation. Without the absolute number being given one can not conclude anything based only on the percentage. Perhaps only 100 students responded to the survey and only 80 students were against the decision. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author has to provide more concrete evidence about how many people responded to the survey to rectify his claim.

Thirdly, the author argues that maintaining the all-female education system will improve the morale among students, and because of it financial support will be proliferated in the near future without any evidence. Will maintaining all-female students be enough reason behind the improving donation? There is a possibility that in the future the amount of donation will not be enough for financial support. In that case, if they admit male students then the number of students will increase and the total amount of donations will be dilated in the future. Moreover, the author does not provide any evidence regarding the prediction of improving donations. Maybe most of the students will not continue to support the college. Then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more veritable evidence perhaps in a form of a systematic research study about the financial condition of the college and the previous donations then the author’s argument will be strengthened.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously unwarranted due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that Prove College should remain an all-female college.