The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above memo, the author argues that if they hire Appian Roadways to construct the rest of the roads of the city then it will not be repaired for at least 4 years. The author supports his argument based on the report which states that the surface section of Route 101, though paved 2 years ago by Good Intention Roadways, is now badly cracked and needed to be reconstructed again, on the other hand, the section of the route, which was constructed by Appian Roadways a few years ago is still in good condition. Furthermore, the author adds the report of purchasing new sophisticated technologies by the Appian Roadways to bolster his argument. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author compares two different types of construction to support his argument without any necessitate evidence. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the process of using circumstances to predict and generalize others. In other words, were the two parts of the road similar? There is a possibility that the road constructed by the Goodwill Roadway is located in the city area where traffics are more and the road, constructed by the Appine Roadway is located in the more urban area where traffic is less. Then one can not compare two roads. The author does not provide any admissible evidence about the two parts of the roads. If the author can provide more evidence regarding the conditions of the roads then, it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent otherwise the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author blames the Goodwill Roadways for the bad condition of the roads. Is it justifiable to obloquy only the construction? The author does not provide any veritable evidence regarding the maintenance of the road. Perhaps a poor management system is also one of the reasons for the bad condition of the roads. If the above scenario is true then the author's argument is seriously weakened. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding the past record of performance of the Goodwill Roadways, then the author’s argument may have sounded more veritable.

Thirdly, the author argues that since Appine Roadways purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager their quality of work will enhance in the future. A reader may ask questions about the efficacy of the new sophisticated technology. Maybe after using the new technology the quality of the road will worsen. Maybe the cost of the maintenance of the new machines is too much to have profited. Perhaps the new manager is not as capable as the previous one. Then one can not argues that Appine Roadways’s performance will dilate in the future. If the author is able to offer more evince perhaps in the form of a research study, which indicates the effectiveness of the new technology then the author’s argument will be strengthened otherwise the author’s argument is built unreliably.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the access roads in the city should be made by the Appian Roadways.