Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the present day, we live in a democratic society where everyone has their own right and everyone has their own duty to make their society better. In order to ensure the progress of our society corporation plays an imperative role. The above prompt sets out that though some people believe that corporations should focus on making a profit within the law others believe that corporations should promote the well-being of society. While I concede that corporations should focus on their lucratively, in my opinion, I mostly agree with the people's belief that corporations have the responsibility to promote the well-being of society and the environment.

To begin with, corporations should promote the moral uprightness of the people in the society in which they act. They should promote the moral deification of the people to ensure a society's progress. For example, corporate should encourage people to protect their environment in order to curb pollution. They should launch campaigns to educate people about the catastrophic nature of pollution. The above example shows that corporations have the ability to educate an entire population of a society. If people in a society are aware of pollution then, a corporation has a better chance of being effective in the future. In other words, if the corporation takes responsibility for society's well-being they fortify its chances of being lucrative in the near future.

Furthermore, a corporation can enhance its profitability by gaining people’s trust. Sometimes a corporation’s lucratively depends on the people of the society in one way or another. Let’s take an example if a corporation takes the responsibility of promulgating the value of education in society it will be profitable in the near future. The more a society’s people will get educated the more they will get reasonable to understand a corporation's goals and ethics. Moreover, if a corporation helps to propagate education in a society then it will have a better chance that today’s students may help the corporation to be lucrative in the future.

However, sometimes a corporation’s main goal should be to make as much money as possible. A corporation should focus on their remuneratively in order to progress in the future. For example, a corporation mainly produces and distributes medicine to fund its research on medical experiments. Then a corporation should focus on its higher goal of curing decease. The above example shows that not all corporations should take the responsibility to promote the well-being of society rather than it should focus on their main goal, otherwise, their greater purposes will be hampered and society will suffer the consequences.

Despite these reasons focusing only on being profitable has its merit in that sometimes it will serve the better goals such as inventing technologies, curing diseases, etc but the advantages of only being profitable are overshadowed by the possible disadvantages which are far more severe in nature. Therefore, only being lucrative is not advisable but focusing on improving a society’s moral uprightness and environment which can sustain the lucrative of a corporation is preferable.