The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above memo, the author argues that in order to abate absenteeism in schools and work-places people should consume nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. The author supports his argument based on the study report, which states that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of beneficia is very high and people visited doctors only a few times for treatment of cold, which is the most frequently given reason for absences. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author supports his argument based on a study, which states that people visit a doctor’s clinic only one or two times for coldness. One reader may raise questions about the authenticity of the study. The author provides no justifiable evidence regarding how long ago the study was conducted or how many people participate in that study. There is a possibility that people may not prefer to visit a doctor’s clinic after catching a cold and tend to stay home. Even if this is not the case, maybe because of the weather of East Maria, people tend to catch cold rarely. If any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author’s argument holds no water. If, the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then, it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that coldness is the most frequently given reason for absences in schools and work and after using beneficia people tend to catch a cold less and the absence will reduce in school and workplace without providing any admissible evidence regarding the honesty of the workers and students. Perhaps most of the time students and workers lie about coldness for their absence since a person may be recovered from coldness very quickly. There is a possibility that people tend to use coldness as an excuse for their absence in schools and work-places. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey report about the authenticity of the absence reason, then the author’s argument will be strengthened.

Thirdly, the author argues that daily use of beneficia will help to reduce absenteeism in schools and work-places without providing any necessitate evidence about beneficia. A reader may ask questions about the efficacy of beneficia. There is a possibility that beneficia is not good for health, though it helps to prevent catching a cold. Perhaps a recent research study shows that beneficia causes other health issues and long-time consuming beneficia impose serious health risks on individuals then, consuming beneficia will not help to reduce absenteeism. In order to rectify the author’s argument, the author must include more evidence regarding beneficia and its effects on the human body.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stand now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that consuming beneficia will be lucrative and absenteeism will be reduced in schools and work-places.