Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than

unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the present world, we live in a more democratic society where everybody has a duty to make their society better. In each society, we democratically elect government officials whose prime duty is to make our society better. Sometimes government officials' judgments do not match people’s opinions. The above prompt sets out that government officials should rely on their judgment rather than unquestionably carry out the people’s will. While I concede that peoples’ options are imperative for better decisions, in my opinion, I mostly agree that government officials should rely more on their judgments for three reasons.

To begin with, gubernatorial candidates are more capable of understanding the world politically than others. In other words, Government officials are more capable of comprehending the problems in our society since they have to consider wider views than people. For example, people in the city are concerned about the lack of schools in the city but 6 nearby schools are 2 Kilometers away from the town where people can easily commute daily. In response to the people’s demand government officials decided to institute a public library in the town that everyone can visit free of charge. This example shows that sometimes government officials should rely on their judgment otherwise unquestioningly carrying out the people’s demand may cause a waste of government property which may affect the growth of the society in one way or another.

Furthermore, in general, government officials have to view the wider picture of society. Sometimes people’s demand only emphasizes their predicaments which often miss out on the big picture. Let’s take an example, in response to the people’s demand of instituting a hospital the government officials built a new golf course to attract more tourists to their town which can increase the revenue significantly and with that money not only they can institute a hospital but also many more things like schools, new roads, etc. This example illustrates that sometimes we need to consider the bigger picture in order to be more lucrative. Thus relying on their judgment government officials develop the society.

However, there are times when people’s opinion is legitimate. In other words, people's concerns are based on practical scenarios which they suffer from this government officials sometimes can not understand the futility of the dilemma of the people. For example, people’s concerns about road condition in the city should be appeased by government officials since bad roads is the main reason for many fatal accidents and intense traffic in the city. By the above example, one can say that sometimes government officials should unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve in order to make their social progress since people can understand the problems more clearly than government officials who do not suffer from the problems.

Despite these reasons, unquestionably carrying out people’s demands has its merit in that it emphasizes all the problems of the society by which people are suffered every day but the apparent advantages are overshadowed by the possible disadvantages which are far more severe in nature. Thus only carrying out people’s demand that they serve is not advisable, relying on their own judgment which also includes people’s opinions is preferable.