The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that to be more lucrative in the future they should discontinue stocking any imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheese. The author supports his argument based on the result from the previous year, that the best-selling cheese in the new stores was domestic cheese. Furthermore, the author strengthens his argument based on the survey report of the magazine, which shows the increasing preference for domestic cheese among its subscribers. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be evaluated.

Firstly, the author argues that they should stop serving imported cheese based on the report, which implies that the best-selling cheese at their newest stores was domestic cheese from Wisconsin. A reader may raise questions about the authenticity of the method of using circumstances from one thing to generalize and predict others. The author provides no admissible evidence regarding the people’s choice from the other regions. Maybe customers at the old stores prefer imported cheese, then switching to only domestic cheese may not be much of a lucrative idea. Even if this is not the case, there is a possibility that very few people knew about the new stores and last year very few people visited the stores. Then, one can not assume that people will prefer domestic cheese in the future. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author can provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey from all of their stores, then the author’s argument may have sounded warranted to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author supports his argument that people’s preferences for domestic cheese will increase in the near future based on the survey report of Cheeses of the World magazine, though the author does not provide any justifiable evidence regarding the sample size of the survey. Perhaps only 1000 people responded to the survey. Then, drawing a conclusion based on a very small sample size seems fictitious. If the above scenario is true, then the author’s argument is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide some evidence, perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of each of the cheese stores throughout the country, then it will be possible to justify the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author states that the best way to enhance the profit is to discontinue imported cheese without any proper evidence. Perhaps people may not prefer only domestic cheese. There is a possibility that people want both kinds of cheese in the stores. Maybe in some parts of the country, most of the customers are not from the united states and they prefer imported cheese rather than domestic cheese, then discontinuing the imported cheese will not be a remunerative idea. In other words, perhaps people’s demands can not be fulfilled only by domestic cheese. Any data perhaps in the form of a systematic survey of the people’s preferences must be included in order to rectify the flaw and strengthens the argument.

In the conclusion, the author's argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to rectify the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the company can enhance its profit by discontinuing of stocking of the imported cheese and concentrating on the domestic cheese.