Claim: A piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Curiosity is inherent in our nature, and because of that we prosper and expand our knowledge through gaining information. Though sometimes one has to be chary that whether the piece of information is correct or not. The only problem is that today’s correct information may not be true tomorrow. The above prompt sets that a piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted since it may well be proven false in the future. While I concede that some information that is considered fact may be proved wrong in the future but in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the fact that a piece of information that is assumed by many as fact should be always mistrusted without verifying its authenticity.

To begin, a piece of information that is referred to as a fact should not be mistrusted at first without any pore-over. Though some information that is assumed to be a fact sometimes turns out to be false for that reason one can not assume that information that is widely accepted as fact will always eventually be debunked by someone. For example, earlier people assumed that the earth is the center of the universe and the sun and other planets revolve around the earth but people can not explains several scientific problems by that information, which leads to unearthing many new scientific phenomenons. Latter the information was belied by several scientists. This above example shows that though sometimes we assumed some wrong information as a fact, inducing that information let to discover many more new pieces of information. Thus people can discover many new information by debunking that information. Hence mistrusting a piece of information at first will impede progress.

Furthermore, a piece of information that is considered by many as a fact sometimes is not fully wrong but there are several new contradicting observations that should be amalgamated to expand our knowledge. Let’s take an example that all balls are red is a fact but it can be easily debunked by the observation of a ball that is blue. Instead of recanting the previous piece of information we can amalgamate it with the latter findings and conclude that some balls are red and some are blue. This illustrates that instead of revoking wildly held beliefs one can create a web of knowledge where a new contradicting fact should be synthesized into the previous web of knowledge to expand our knowledge. We can also take the periodic table as a prime example that all metals are not the same type but when they are different they should be amalgamated with the previous one in order to make a flawless system of knowledge.

However, some information that is accepted as a fact does not have any viable premise other than belief and will have the most chances to be debunked. Some information should be mistrusted because on which base the fact was situated tough it is assumed true by many people. For example, a piece of information that is written in the Bible can not be accepted as a fact without any legitimate evidence. The above example illustrates that some facts should be mistrusted despite their popularity among the people. In that case, one can mistrust the fact because of its’ lack of scientific premise. Assuming the truth of a fact without any evidence is not the way knowledge should be expanded. So sometimes one can mistrust a fact.

Despite these reasons that a piece of information that people assumed is factual should be mistrusted has its merit such as in the latter future it may be inaccurate but such advantages are overshadowed by the possible disadvantages which are far more severe in nature. Thus mistrusting factual information is not advisable rather accepting it from a scientific point of view is preferable.