The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered

by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni

showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and

classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place

via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana

University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased

along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will

begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like

those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help

Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

In the above memorandum, the author argues that Humana University should institute online degree programs in order to enhance their student’s enrolment and mitigate the expenditure deficit. The author supports his argument based on the report that by instituting online degree programs the nearby Omni University decreases their dormitory expenditure and the total number of enrolment has proliferated significantly. Furthermore, the author bolsters his argument by providing the report which states that during the past 3 years Humana University faced a money deficit and the total number of enrolments has reduced significantly. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that by instituting the online degree program the number of students has increased by 50 percent without providing the past condition about the number of students. Can one determine the effectiveness of any strategy only from a percentage? A percentage is a tricky situation. Without the absolute number given one can not conclude anything just from a percentage. Maybe before implementing the online program the number of students at Onmi University was 1000 but after facilitating online courses the number of students is now 1500 which is significantly low. Then one can not argue that the number of students has increased significantly. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding the number of students prior to online courses then it will strengthen the author’s argument otherwise the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author argues that since implementing the online program Omni University has been profitable, Humana University will be lucrative too without any proper evidence. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the comparison. In other words, is the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to predict and generalize the other legitimate? There is a possibility that maybe the two universities are not similar at all. Maybe most of the students of Omni University live in a city where internet access is relatively easy compared to the students of Humana University where most of the students are from rural places. The author does not provide any justifiable evidence regarding his assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evince regarding the student’s condition at the two universities then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Thirdly, the author argues that to enhance the number of enrolments, Humana University should expedite the online program without any admissible evidence. One may ask questions about the efficacy of implementing online courses in dilating the number of students. There is a feasibility that maybe the teaching at the university is not that good. Maybe the course structure at the university is very obsolete. Then after kindling the online program students may not want to enroll in the university. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author has to provide more justifiable evidence perhaps in the form of a survey about the reason behind the dwindling student number in order to rectify his argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that creating and promoting online programs the Humana University will be lucrative in the near future.