The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand

Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our

very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal

companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to

compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce

their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue

making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain

Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food

products as quickly as possible.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that Bargain Brand should expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as soon as possible. The author supports his argument based on the result of being lucrative on their first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Furthermore, the author bolsters his argument by providing the result that the product is still lucrative without enhancing the price of the cereal to be competitive with the other top brands. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that the first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal drew many customers from top brands due to its low price without providing any justifiable evidence. There is a possibility that only 12 percent of the customers from the top brands buy the new low-priced cereal, then one can not argue that the first product was profitable. Maybe most customers of the top brands tried the new low-price cereal for the first time and then returned to their previous cereals. Then one can not argue that low-price cereal will be profitable in the future. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart about the customers of each top brand then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that they did not have to raise the price in order to compete with the top brands for once to be more profitable without any evidence regarding the future scenario. There is a possibility that after a recent economic meltdown the cost of the cereal went significantly high and the Bargain Brand dilate its product price significantly. Then maybe people will prefer to buy the cereal from top brands whose costs rise gradually over the years instead of buying cereal from Bargain Brand whose cereal prices enhanced significantly. The author has to provide the future market or the possible future scenarios in order to rectify his argument otherwise the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author argues that by implementing the same strategy as the cereal the Bargain Brand will be remunerative in other products without providing any data regarding the efficacy of the plan. Maybe people may not want to buy the other products from that Bargain Brand due to their penchant for the stigma that high price necessitates better quality. Even if this is not the case maybe other products are available at lower prices in the market. Then reducing prices may not be profitable for the company. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted. Furthermore, using a circumstance from one thing to generalize and predict the future is somehow fictitious. If the author is able to provide emir evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research report of the market price of the things then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is severely flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can elucidate the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the Bargain Brand should expand its business.